Opened 9 years ago

Closed 4 years ago

#5705 closed Patch (rejected)

automatically upload files when i save a file that is been edited

Reported by: santiago Owned by:
Priority: high Component: FileZilla Client
Keywords: upload, file, editing Cc: matteo@…, guidod@…
Component version: Operating system type: Windows
Operating system version: xp

Description

when i choose to edit file and save it, i get a message in filezilla that asks me if i want to upload it. i would like to have the option in setting menu to make filezilla upload the file instantly without asking me. thanks

Attachments (1)

upload_no_ask.patch (3.6 KB) - added by Otavio Rodolfo Piske 8 years ago.
Patch to automatically upload the edited files

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (11)

comment:1 Changed 9 years ago by Matteo Bertini

Cc: matteo@… added

Changed 8 years ago by Otavio Rodolfo Piske

Attachment: upload_no_ask.patch added

Patch to automatically upload the edited files

comment:2 Changed 8 years ago by Otavio Rodolfo Piske

I've just uploaded a patch that enables that behavior. I've tested it in my laptop, which runs Red Hat Enterprise Linux and it worked as expected.

comment:3 Changed 8 years ago by Otavio Rodolfo Piske

Type: Feature requestPatch

comment:5 Changed 8 years ago by Otavio Rodolfo Piske

Keywords: upload file editing patch added; linux linux linux linux == RETARDED!!!!!!!! removed
Operating system version: linux linux linux linux == RETARDED!!!!!!!!N/A
Resolution: wontfix
Status: closedreopened
Summary: linux linux linux linux == RETARDED!!!!!!!!Automatically upload files when i save a file that is been edited

Re-opening the ticket.

comment:6 Changed 8 years ago by Otavio Rodolfo Piske

Component: FileZilla ServerFileZilla Client

comment:7 Changed 6 years ago by Alexander Schuch

This patch is related to RFE #2914.

comment:8 Changed 5 years ago by Guido D

Cc: guidod@… added

+1

Transmit has this and works perfectly. Seems to upload to a temporary path and then (probably after some kind of integrity change) replace the previous version of the file.

comment:9 Changed 4 years ago by Daedalon

This would be useful.

comment:10 Changed 4 years ago by Daedalon

A bit of searching revealed that this is a duplicate of #1952, #1979, #2765, #2914, #2992, #4694, #4932, #5005, #5157, #5295, #5303, #5582, #7796, #7989, #8194, #8611, #8784, #9674, a total of 19 tickets. The most active one is #2914.

comment:11 Changed 4 years ago by Tim Kosse

Resolution: Nonerejected
Status: newclosed

Unfortunately it is not possible for a program to detect when another program has finished writing to a file such that it is save to upload a file. Blindly starting an upload at the wrong time can and does lead to corruption. Thus it is the user who needs to actively tell FileZilla when it is safe to transfer the files.

Case in point: Letting Dropbox loose on FileZilla's settings directory leads to corrupted settings. Same principle, Dropbox starts uploading files when FileZilla has not finished writing to the files. Since the files are then locked by Dropbox, the files aren't properly finalized.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.