Opened 6 years ago

Closed 6 years ago

#9153 closed Bug report (wontfix)

FileZill Client v3.7.3 will not close, say's "Files still being edited"

Reported by: Robert Davis Owned by:
Priority: normal Component: FileZilla Client
Keywords: files are still being edited Cc:
Component version: Operating system type: Windows
Operating system version: 8.1

Description

Hi,
We are using Win 8.1 for an OS. We have to force FileZilla to close because it say's "Files still being edited" when no files are still active.

FileZilla Client


Version: 3.7.3

Build information:

Compiled for: i586-pc-mingw32msvc
Compiled on: x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
Build date: 2013-08-07
Compiled with: i586-mingw32msvc-gcc (GCC) 4.2.1-sjlj (mingw32-2)
Compiler flags: -g -O2 -Wall -g -fexceptions

Linked against:

wxWidgets: 2.8.12
GnuTLS: 3.1.11
SQLite: 3.7.16.2

Operating system:

Name: Windows NT 6.2 (build 9200)
Version: 6.2
Platform: 64 bit system

Attachments (1)

screen.png (53.3 KB) - added by Robert Davis 6 years ago.
Screen Shot of Error

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (5)

Changed 6 years ago by Robert Davis

Attachment: screen.png added

Screen Shot of Error

comment:1 Changed 6 years ago by Robert Davis

Owner: set to Robert Davis
Status: newaccepted

We uploaded a screen shot to show the exact error. As you can see there is nothing remaining to upload or download yet FileZilla says there are files that are being edited or need to upload. Both statements are not true.

comment:2 Changed 6 years ago by Robert Davis

Owner: changed from Robert Davis to new
Status: acceptedassigned

comment:3 Changed 6 years ago by Robert Davis

Owner: new deleted

comment:4 Changed 6 years ago by Alexander Schuch

Resolution: wontfix
Status: assignedclosed

This is not a bug, but a limitation.

You likely opened the file in a multi-document editor. If that program is still running, FileZilla has no chance to tell whether or not the file is still edited.

The warning just likes to tell you that if you opened a remote file for editing, and you then close FileZilla, and you continue editing that file, your changes won't be applied to the remote file anymore, as FileZilla is terminated and thus cannot upload the file anymore.

If you do not want to see that warning, either do not open/edit remote files in FileZilla, or use another editor. Alternatively, you can use "File→Show files currently being edited…" to manually tell FileZilla that you do not edit a particular file anymore.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.