Opened 10 years ago

Closed 10 years ago

#5020 closed Bug report (rejected)

Windows: FileZilla update uninstalls previous version

Reported by: Thomas Owned by:
Priority: normal Component: FileZilla Client
Keywords: Windows installation uninstallation NSIS installer overwrite "Local site" Cc:
Component version: Operating system type: Windows
Operating system version: Tested on XP

Description

When FileZilla updates on Windows automatically (latest update was to 3.3.0.1), it uninstalls the previous version first.

This is annoying, because the startmenu sorting is broken afterwards when sorted alphabetically. It also forgets the folder "Local site:", which needs to be set again manually after an update.

The NSIS installer should be changed to just overwrite what needs to be overwritten without uninstalling the previous version first.

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 10 years ago by Thomas

Operating system type: Windows

comment:2 Changed 10 years ago by Tim Kosse

Resolution: rejected
Status: newclosed

An installer that merely overwrites an old version will leave old files behind that possibly interfere with the new version.

This is actually a design flaw in Windows, it fails to keep the start menu sorted even if user told it to sort alphabetically.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.