Opened 4 years ago

Closed 4 years ago

Last modified 4 years ago

#11074 closed Bug report (rejected)

Wrongly deleted local downloaded files while performing the deleting job on FTP server

Reported by: devcon Owned by:
Priority: high Component: FileZilla Client
Keywords: wrongly-deleting local downloaded files Cc:
Component version: Operating system type: Windows
Operating system version: Windows 7 (build 7601, Service Pack 1), 64-bit edition

Description

It happened in both 3.22.2.1 and 3.22.2.2.
I almost will use FileZilla client to do the photo-downloading job every day from my smartphone in which a FTP server app will run. After downloading finished, I then will delete all the source pictures in server. While the deleting-job is running, if the server app works fine, everything will be OK; if the server app is unexpectedly shut down due to the phone's power-saving mode or my quiting touch, the FileZilla client will give a error message in message log area such as "connection failed". In such condition, One or several downloaded and locally stored files will be modified: the sizes turn into 0, which means the file bodies are lost and only names are kept. And after the server app is re-run and connetion is re-built, the names of those 0-size files will show again in the transfer queue area, not the queued-files page, but the failed-transfers page, it seems the client wants to download those pictures again from server, but failed because they also have been deleted from server already. Then I have to face the situation: I lose these pictures forever because the source in server has be earsed and the local copies have been modified into 0-size.

FileZilla Client


Version: 3.22.2.2

Build information:

Compiled for: x86_64-w64-mingw32
Compiled on: x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
Build date: 2016-11-01
Compiled with: x86_64-w64-mingw32-gcc (GCC) 4.9.1
Compiler flags: -g -O2 -Wall -std=gnu++14

Linked against:

wxWidgets: 3.0.3
GnuTLS: 3.4.16
SQLite: 3.15.0

Operating system:

Name: Windows 7 (build 7601, Service Pack 1), 64-bit edition
Version: 6.1
Platform: 64-bit system
CPU features: sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 sse4.1 sse4.2 avx avx2 aes pclmulqdq rdrnd bmi2 bmi2
Settings dir: C:\Users\Devcon Wang\AppData\Roaming\FileZilla\

Change History (2)

comment:1 by Tim Kosse, 4 years ago

Resolution: rejected
Status: newclosed

Deleting remote files does not change any local files.

This is an error in your workflow:
You need to wait until all transfers have finished and check that all files have transferred successfully before starting to delete files.

comment:2 by devcon, 4 years ago

I am sure I have waited until all transfers had finished, before sending the deleting instructions. Actually I usually do the downloading for twice each time to insure everything is downloaded. In the second downloading the client will ask how to do since targe file already exists, then I'll choose overwrite if different size, and the job will end very soon because all the files have just be downloaded successfully and sizes have no change. It's always like this if connection to server is OK. But some local file will be lost if the connection closed and restored during deleting. That's why I'm here to report the problem and seek for help. What can I do now? Maybe I should add one step to my workflow as this: Always change local directory name or move the files to another place before sending deleting instruction?

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.