Opened 6 years ago

Last modified 5 years ago

#9114 reopened Bug report

Suddenly switched to "kiosk mode"

Reported by: matteo sisti sette Owned by:
Priority: normal Component: FileZilla Client
Keywords: Cc:
Component version: Operating system type: Linux
Operating system version:

Description

The logon type in all my sites has suddenly changed to "Ask Password" (they all were "Normal") and if I try to change any of them to "Normal" I get this error message:

"FileZilla is running in kiosk mode. The 'Normal' and 'Account' logontypes are not available in this mode".

Whatever the "kiosk mode" is, I haven't chosen it; I haven't done anything to use this mode. If some condition has changed that somehow requires to switch to this mode for whatever reason, I should have received a warning, together with instructions to switch back to the original mode.

The funniest thing is that Filezilla was already running and I had already connected to several sites which had "Normal" logon type, and now, within the same session, I get this error message.

Additionally, FZ is exhibiting another stupid behavior: I had a site already and open, to which connection had been lost. If I click the "refresh" button, it should either reconnect (it was still set to normal logon type when I connected) or prompt me to insert the password (since it has changed to 'ask password' in the meantime); but doing absolutely nothing is not an acceptable behavior.

Change History (10)

comment:1 Changed 6 years ago by matteo sisti sette

Ok, I opened Settings/Interface, and the "Do not save password" was checked. I unchecked it and now I can switch back my sites to "normal" logon type.

However:

  • I NEVER TOUCHED THAT SETTING: it has automatically checked itself and this is a bug
  • The name of the setting is inconsistent with the error message. The error message says "FileZilla is running in kiosk mode" while the setting is called "Do not save password". There's no such a thing as a "kiosk mode" anywhere in the settings and that's confusing. The error message shoud say something like "'normal' and 'account' logon modes are not available because the 'Do not save passwords' setting is enabled. You can change it in Edit/Settings/Interface/Behavior".
  • If you have 100 sites and you check the "Do not save password" setting (and much worse, like in my case, if FileZilla automagically decides to enable that setting against your will and without notice) and then you uncheck it, all the sites remain in the "Ask password" logon type, and you have to change them back one by one manually - that's damn annoying. When a site is configured with Normal logon type, this should be remembered even if the global setting "Do Not Save Password" is swicthed to true, so that, if this is switched back to false, sites that used to be in Normal logon type go back to that logon type.

comment:2 Changed 6 years ago by matteo sisti sette

Priority: highcritical

OH MY F*ING GOD!
ALL MY PASSWORDS HAVE BEEN LOST.

Well that was obvious, but I hadn't realized it. I'll change the priority to CRITICAL, because this is data loss.

Of course it's fine that all passwords get lost if the user turns on the "Do not save passwords" (but hey!!! it should ISSUE A WARNING when you do so and I've just tested that it does not!!!!!!), but the fact that this setting enables itself on its own initiative without notice is a tremendous issue because it means it wipes out all your passwords without a reason.

Please change the title to "'Do not save password' setting changes to enabled without a reason and erases all passwords"

comment:3 Changed 5 years ago by Tim Kosse

Priority: criticalnormal

comment:4 Changed 5 years ago by Tim Kosse

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

The error message has been changed.

comment:5 Changed 5 years ago by matteo sisti sette

Priority: normalcritical
Resolution: fixed
Status: closedreopened

The error message has been changed.

Is that it? Then why on earth are you closing this issue? Did you miss the pare where the "don't save passwords" setting changed on its own without touching it??

comment:6 in reply to:  5 Changed 5 years ago by matteo sisti sette

Did you miss the pare where

*part

(unbelievable I can't edit my own comment... unbelievable you still use Trac, actually)

comment:7 Changed 5 years ago by Tim Kosse

Priority: criticalnormal

Please don't change the priority, this is neither a security issue (arguably not saving passwords is actually more secure) nor does it render FileZilla useless for the majority of users.

comment:8 Changed 5 years ago by Tim Kosse

Resolution: worksforme
Status: reopenedclosed

Saving of passwords doesn't change on its own. There are only two ways to change it:

  • First-time users of the quickconnect bar get asked whether they want to save passwords, it's an explicit choice
  • Manually disabling it in the settings dialog

unbelievable you still use Trac, actually

It works well enough. Switching between issue trackers is an insane amount of effort and generally not worth it.

comment:9 Changed 5 years ago by teo8976

Resolution: worksforme
Status: closedreopened

Please don't change the priority,

Ok, I thought you had changed it for the same reason why you closed the issue, i.e. ignoring or missing the most relevant part.

Saving of passwords doesn't change on its own. There are only two ways to change it:

I'm telling you that I did neither, and suddenly one day I started filezilla and it had switched to not saving password (and had lost all the stored ones).

It's pretty obvious that you can't reproduce the issue, but given the very nature of the issue it's stupid to close it as "worksforme". It's clearly some rare event that is not very likely to happen, like some file getting corrupt or something. You should investigate deeply what could cause the configuration to be lost and reset.

I'm not changing priority since you ask not to (though I disagree, because this is a CATASTROPHIC issue), but I *am* reopening, because you simply have no ground to close it as "worksforme" (otherwise any crasher issue not easily reproducible would be dismissed the same way)

comment:10 in reply to:  9 Changed 5 years ago by teo8976

I'm telling you that I did neither, and suddenly one day I started filezilla
and it had switched to not saving password (and had lost all the stored ones).

To be more precise, it changed with FileZilla already open:

The funniest thing is that Filezilla was already running and
I had already connected to several sites which had "Normal"
logon type, and now, within the same session,
I get this error message.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.