Opened 11 years ago

Closed 10 years ago

Last modified 7 years ago

#5164 closed Bug report (fixed)

Accidental single click file renaming

Reported by: Peter Owned by:
Priority: normal Component: FileZilla Client
Keywords: renaming Cc:
Component version: Operating system type: OS X
Operating system version: 10.6

Description

When navigating through folders a single click very often leads to a file or folder renaming. More than that, sometimes when I double click on the folder - it requests this folder's contents AND activates renaming feature, so when it finishes listing new folder - old renaming box stays on the screen, as if now you are renaming a file or a folder inside this new listed folder. If you hit Return - then a file in this new folder will be renamed to the name of a file from a previous folder.

I think it's a high priority bug, since I had to stop using Filezilla completely.

Attachments (1)

Screen shot 2010-02-02 at 23.55.01.png (24.7 KB ) - added by Peter 11 years ago.
Renaming box from an upper level folder

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (4)

by Peter, 11 years ago

Renaming box from an upper level folder

comment:1 by Jase Miller, 11 years ago

Priority: highnormal

I am experiencing a similar issue (perhaps it is the same) with identical configuration as zovar. The way it has happened to me several times is that when I click a directory name (instead of the folder icon next to it) the name becomes editable. If I double-click a directory name (instead of icon) it will quite often automatically rename whatever file or directory my cursor lands on in the new directory listing. The new name will be the same as the directory I was opening.

For example, I just listed a directory that included the dev directory, which I wanted to list in order to upload a new file there. I double-clicked dev and accidentally hit the word dev instead of the folder icon. The word dev became editable and the new listing of the directory happened immediately after (without my doing anything). The file that was immediately under my cursor in the new listing was INSTALL.txt, but before I could even read it, it had been renamed to dev. I searched my offline copy of this directory and ruled out the other files before determining that it was the INSTALL.txt that had been renamed. I've now fixed the name again.

To fix these I have had to manually compare my offline directory to figure out what file I have just accidentally renamed and then I can change it back since I cannot find an undo feature that works on this.

So far I've been able to manage the damage, but working with PHP as I am, this makes me pretty nervous every time I go to list a new directory. Thanks for your attention!

comment:2 by Jase Miller, 11 years ago

Just a quick note on the changed priority: since your documentation states you may ignore bug reports that are incorrectly formatted, I reset the priority to normal as directed. I do agree with zovar above that at least for my use this is a high priority bug. Thanks!
/JM

comment:3 by Peter, 10 years ago

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

Looks like this bug has been fixed in 3.3.2.1:

Cancel file renaming on actions that change the file list, such as changing sort order or performing a refresh
Cancel file renaming if starting a drag&drop operation

Big thanks to whoever did that! :)

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.