Opened 10 years ago

Closed 10 years ago

#5129 closed Bug report (rejected)

Filezilla forgets my default "File Exists Action"

Reported by: Bill Reveile Owned by:
Priority: normal Component: FileZilla Client
Keywords: File Exists Action prompt Cc:
Component version: Operating system type: Windows
Operating system version: XP Pro

Description

I have my default "File Exists Action" set to "Ask For Action". I connect to a server by FTP. The first time I upload a file it asks me what action to take and I choose "Overwrite" and I do not select the "Always use this action" box. I can repeat this upload many times and it behaves correctly allowing me to choose to overwrite. After I have worked on something else for a while while leaving Filezilla running, making code modifications, for example, I then upload the same file again and it has forgotten that I want to be asked about overwriting.

The client continues to fail to prompt me until I restart the application, then it behaves properly again for an undefined period of time. The method I am using to trigger an upload is to drag a file from an Explorer window into the file list box of the Filezilla GUI. The times it has occurred, Filezilla has always been partially hidden behind other applications but I don't know how that affects it.

I will try some additional testing and see if I can reliably reproduce the problem.

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 10 years ago by Bill Reveile

I now have a highly likely theory as to what causes this "bug". As I mentioned, the Filezilla window was always hidden behind some other windows when this problem occurred. When uploading a file, I would click on the prompt dialog to bring it to the front so I could find the "OK" button. When clicking on the prompt dialog box, if I clicked on the title of the "Always use this action" checkbox, or the title of "Apply only to uploads" checkbox below it, then Filezilla's behavior would change in exactly the manner I described. I would consider this to be a high enough likelihood that this "bug" can be retired.

comment:2 Changed 10 years ago by Tim Kosse

Resolution: rejected
Status: newclosed

In addition, please note that the file exists dialog that pops up during transfers only applies to the current session. The settings dialog needs to be used to make permanent changes.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.