Opened 16 years ago

Last modified 12 years ago

#2128 closed Feature request

Stopping server connect before LIST should disconnect

Reported by: Scott M. Sanders Owned by:
Priority: normal Component: FileZilla Client
Keywords: Cc: Scott M. Sanders, Tim Kosse, Alexander Schuch
Component version: Operating system type:
Operating system version:

Description

In the FileZilla client, when a user attempts to
connect to a server, if the user aborts the connection
before or during the LIST command, FileZilla should
disconnect from the server. The user most likely wants
to cancel connecting to the server entirely. Also,
without the remote file/folder list, there is little
the user can do (without manually refreshing the remote
list, which requires such intuition) except upload to
the default remote folder or enter raw FTP commands.

Change History (2)

comment:1 by Tim Kosse, 12 years ago

Rejected. If LIST gets sent, the client is already connected. Aborting the listing should not disconnect, that would make cancel logic highly unintuitive.

comment:2 by Scott M. Sanders, 12 years ago

My point four years ago was I think that when connecting, if the user clicks Stop/Cancel before LIST completes, it should not stay connected because I think FileZilla is geared more to the intermediate user, and without a remote list, I think many users (like myself) would find being technically but not visibly connected, and without a nice warning ("LIST canceled. Retry or disconnect?"), to be a bit pointless.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.