Opened 18 months ago

Closed 18 months ago

Last modified 10 months ago

#11586 closed Bug report (worksforme)

Changing location of key file keeps old location in memory

Reported by: Brian Owned by:
Priority: normal Component: FileZilla Client
Keywords: SSH private key location Cc:
Component version: Operating system type: Windows
Operating system version: 10 pro x64

Description

Moving the location of the private key file for SFTP login doesn't work.

I have several SFTP sites set up whereby the folder for their private keys changed from C:\ to W:\.

All of the sites work perfectly to log in and browse the remote folders. The problem occurs when I drag and drop a local file to the remote server. In this case, it tries to reconnect to the remote server using the OLD keyfile location.

You can see the error message "Skipping non-existing key file "C:\0_Work\".... in the attached copy of the message log.

Attachments (1)

FZKeyfilebug.txt (1.7 KB) - added by Brian 18 months ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (9)

Changed 18 months ago by Brian

Attachment: FZKeyfilebug.txt added

comment:1 Changed 18 months ago by Tim Kosse

Status: newmoreinfo

Where did you configure the key file?

comment:2 in reply to:  1 Changed 18 months ago by Brian

Status: moreinfonew

Replying to codesquid:

Where did you configure the key file?

In the Site Manager window. Logon type: Key file -> Key file text box.

comment:3 Changed 18 months ago by Tim Kosse

Status: newmoreinfo

Did you re-connect after making the changes?

Also, were there still files in the queue from prior to making the change?

comment:4 in reply to:  3 Changed 18 months ago by Brian

Status: moreinfonew

Replying to codesquid:

Did you re-connect after making the changes?

I've restarted FZ (and the PC) several times, so yes?
I've also tried renaming the private key file, so no change there.

Also, were there still files in the queue from prior to making the change?

No, nothing at all. Fresh connection, nothing hanging around.

comment:5 in reply to:  3 Changed 18 months ago by Brian

Replying to codesquid:

Did you re-connect after making the changes?

I just had another thought: W:\ (the new location) is a mapped network drive pointing to a Ubuntu/Samba share. Not sure if that makes a difference.

comment:6 Changed 18 months ago by Tim Kosse

Status: newmoreinfo

I can only think of one possible reason: Did you reconnect using the reconnect button instead of going through the Site Manager to connect?

comment:7 in reply to:  6 Changed 18 months ago by Brian

Status: moreinfonew

Replying to codesquid:

I can only think of one possible reason: Did you reconnect using the reconnect button instead of going through the Site Manager to connect?

No, I use the drop-down button in the extreme upper-left to choose the site to connect. It then connects using the new key location. It is when it want's to start transferring a file that it tries to reconnect to the remote server using the old key.

I have, of course, worked around this by putting a copy of the key file back in the old location on the C: drive.

There is something in the procedure that launches the upload that gets its connection information from a cache somewhere that didn't get updated. I don't know how you are storing persistant site configuration data, but I'm sure that whatever is in that file is corrupted on my machine. Is that data stored somewhere where I can get at it and have a look?

comment:8 Changed 18 months ago by Tim Kosse

Resolution: worksforme
Status: newclosed

Then there must have been files still in the queue. Make sure to delete the contents of the transfer queue.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.