Opened 3 years ago

Closed 3 years ago

Last modified 12 months ago

#10758 closed Bug report (wontfix)

Remote Drag-Move shows (+) "copy" icon above cursor

Reported by: RealGrouchy Owned by:
Priority: normal Component: FileZilla Client
Keywords: Cc:
Component version: 3.15.0.2 Operating system type: OS X
Operating system version: 10.10.5

Description

On OSX, when I click and drag a file between folders on the same remote server, the green plus sign icon appears above the cursor.

In the OSX vernacular, this suggests that the file will be copied, i.e. a copy of the file will remain in the source location. For example, in Finder, when moving files between local folders, clicking and dragging moves a file, whereas pressing the option key while clicking and dragging causes the green plus sign icon to appear and a copy of the file will be moved to the new location, leaving the original file in the original location.

Instead of copying the file as the green plus sign suggests, clicking and dragging causes FileZilla to move the file and not retain it in the original location.

This could lead users to believe that they have copied a file when in fact they have moved it.

Therefore, this copy icon should not appear.

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 3 years ago by Tim Kosse

Resolution: wontfix
Status: newclosed

Sadly the drag&drop API doesn't allow the fine-grained control over the icon that would be required for it to be correct in all situations.

comment:2 Changed 12 months ago by Tim Rowe

This behavior was also observed in the Windows version - the result is that it indicates the files will be copied, but are instead moved.

In our case I was using this function to try to copy all existing files from a production server directory in to a back-up directory - imagine my shock when it resulted in the production environment being completely removed in the original location! This could be potentially disastrous when files are incorrectly moved away.

I don't mind if the fix for this is to only allow move, but it absolutely must not indicate that the operation will be a copy operation.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.